A Sarcastic Appetite


Thirsty Thursday Round-Up for the Week of October 24
October 24, 2013, 8:49 pm
Filed under: Restaurant Round-Up

picstitch-2

I’ll be honest: I kind of forgot about this blog. But apparently some of you didn’t! And in rereading some of my old posts recently, well, I remembered I kinda liked it too. So here we go again. I’m here to canvas the food blogs so you don’t have to – when I’m not hiking in Maine (top left), digging into brunch at Lafayette (bottom left), cozying up to a glass of champagne, or settling in with the very first issue of Equals, which I am really excited about.  Anyway, a couple of highlights this week:

Babbo just introduced a lunchtime truffle tasting menu for a cool $99. And if you really want to get after it, get yourself to the NoMad, where they’re serving white truffles at cost. (And while you’re there, have a couple drinks in the Library and thank me later.)

River Styx in Greenpoint is reason #75 I need to plan another neighborhood crawl. From the same people who brought you Roebling Tea Room in Williamsburg, River Styx is apparently hitting all the high notes with dinner and brunch crowds alike. (Unless, of course, you hate brunch.)

Empellon Cocina will welcome Grant Achatz as part of its latest Push Project on November 7…and yours truly will be there. To say I am excited would be a vast understatement; I’m still talking about the drinks I had at the Aviary a month ago.

New on Gothamist is a list of brunch spots that aren’t terrible, from The Dutch to Lobster Joint and my perennial favorite, Shopsin’s. (Bonus: more hating on brunch. Apparently the round-up has a theme this week.)

Toro tops Grub Street’s latest Power Rankings; it seems the 60-odd menu items are a hit. I was displeased at having to stomach $7 for one egg, deviled, but such is life. And I’d be lying if I said the bone marrow ($16) with oxtail marmalade was only ok – it was an absolute delight.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

