A Sarcastic Appetite


Thirsty Thursday Round-Up for the Week of December 16
December 15, 2011, 7:37 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

The blog’s been Deadsville. You know it. I know it. Bear with me as I attempt to bring it back to life. “I’m here to canvas the food blogs, so you don’t have to.”

Did it work??

 

A friend and I checked out Whitehall the other night, the new place down in the West Village that replaced Sweetiepie. The white tiles and sort of barebones interior is supposed to evoke London’s Tube stations…..but I’ve never been in a Tube station as nice as this place. My friend loved her cocktail and I loved my champagne, and I’m looking forward to going back for dinner (and brunch!). Menus are here.

I am feeling quite jealous of all my UWS neighbors, since FloFab tells me they’ll be getting quite a few new establishments in the neighborhood. To wit: The Smith, Jacob’s Pickles, Mamajuana Cafe, and more. I’m up for the field trips; you’ll just have to invite me.

A few years ago – more years than I’d like to admit – I had the great fortune of visiting Germany at Christmastime. No one puts on a Christmas fair like the Germans, complete with glühwein and stollen and all the plätzchen (Christmas cookies) I could get my hands on. (My grubby American fingers stopped at nothing.) These Lebkuchen embody all that is delicious about a holiday delicacy in Germany: slightly sweet gingerbread, with spice, and a glaze to keep everyone happy. Get into it – it’s good.

The weather in NYC isn’t cooperating, but I swear in other parts of the country winter is definitely here. It’ll hit us soon enough, at which point you should warm your belly with Restaurant Girl’s Best Bowls of Soup. I’d also like to add Tom Yum Soup to that list, though I haven’t found any serious contenders. Any ideas? I’m willing to travel!

Are you having people over tomorrow and freaking out about what to serve? Mark Bittman has done the work for you, creating a handy-dandy little map of more than 500 possible combinations.

Two reports on Forcella, the new pizza place doing fried pies – where the dough is flash fried before baked with toppings: Danny at Food in Mouth says it’s “texturally interesting” but not a gamechanger, while the boys at Immaculate Infatuation can’t stop talking about it. Guess I need to get some of that fried pizza in my piehole and decide for myself.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

