A Sarcastic Appetite


Barbecued Chicken, or I Am Embarrassed to Have a Food Blog
July 10, 2011, 1:21 pm
Filed under: Recipes

I’m a little abashed to post this. I mean, it’s one thing for Jenny to write about it, since she made it up, and has two picky kids who need to eat. I don’t have any kids, I just live with one – and yet I’m embarrassed to admit that it took reading about this on her blog to put two and two together: barbecue sauce + chicken drumsticks = dinner? Wha?

And yet….

And yet my brother keeps talking about this particular meal, weeks after we’ve eaten it. “Can you make that barbecue one again? With the dark meat?” he asks, and I think about throwing in the towel. Just retiring, plain and simple. “You know, that one you made that one time? Can you make it again? It was so good! The dark meat one?”

Forget about the beautiful scallops with dried cherries and cauliflower I painstakingly made from Michael Psilakis’ How to Roast a Lamb. Forget it. And who even cares if I bake my own birthday cake?

Nope. The one thing that gets his stomach’s attention is when I slather store-bought (store bought!) barbecue sauce over a couple of drumsticks, turning them and slathering them every ten minutes for all of half an hour in the oven. That’s it. And it’s not even my recipe.

I should probably end things right here…but I’ve got more food blogs to read, and more recipes to make that I wish I’d had the wherewithal to come up with myself. Stay tuned for more enthralling action here in A Sarcastic Appetite’s kitchen!

 

Barbecued Chicken

From Dinner: A Love Story. Serves however many you’d like, just adjust the amount of barbecue sauce. This served about 2, since one of us is apparently still growing.

 

5 chicken drumsticks

about 1 c. barbecue sauce, plus more to serve. (I like Stubbs, if you can get it)

some salt and pepper

 

Preheat the oven to 425º. Line a baking sheet with foil. Brush the drumsticks with barbecue sauce on both sides, season with salt and pepper, and cook for 30 minutes, turning every ten minutes and basting with more sauce each time. Serve.

See what I mean?

 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

