A Sarcastic Appetite


Red Wine & Rosemary Lamb Chops
March 22, 2011, 6:24 am
Filed under: Recipes

My calendar might tell me it’s spring, but the thermometer apparently isn’t in on the joke; it’s supposed to be 52° and cloudy here in New York today. I keep thinking of all the delicious spring-like foods headed our way – peas, asparagus, rhubarb, and ramps for those of you who go bonkers for them – and yet the weather has me stymied.

This recipe does its very best to bridge the gap; the red wine puts it squarely in winter, but the fresh herbs hint at spring. It can be marinated overnight in the fridge, or, for the lazy ones among us, at room temperature for an hour. I think there’s no need to guess which route I took.

It also reminds me of a poor man’s version of a marinated leg of lamb my mother makes every spring, which involves whole sprigs of rosemary, lots of garlic, soy sauce, an entire bottle of red wine, and a slumber party in the fridge before the leg meets its delicious fate on the grill.

As I have neither a grill nor the willpower to manhandle a whole leg of lamb, and certainly am not in the business of planning dinners ahead, I’m left with this shortcut. While it might not measure up to the one I get to have every year, it’s nevertheless delicious. And if you are the kind of person who can manage to organize an overnight stay in the fridge for these lamb chops, I think you’ll be duly rewarded. Let me know how it is, since I can only imagine.

Red Wine & Rosemary Lamb Chops

Serves 4. Adapted ever so slightly from Sara Foster’s Fresh Every Day.

8 lamb loin chops

1/2 c. red wine

2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar

2 tbsp. mint jelly

2 tbsp. chopped fresh rosemary

1 tbsp. chopped fresh mint

sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Lay the chops in a big Pyrex or other large, shallow baking dish. In a small bowl, whisk the wine, vinegar, jelly, rosemary, and mint. Pour the marinade over the lamb and let sit, covered, at room temperature for an hour (or refrigerate overnight). Turn the chops several times while they marinate. Once you’re ready to go, heat two saute pans on high heat. Season the chops with salt and pepper, then sear them, cooking about 5 minutes on each side for rare to medium rare.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

