A Sarcastic Appetite


Indonesian Ginger Chicken
February 23, 2011, 7:59 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

I think it was amidst the frenzy of the new year, that time when we all Vow to Make Resolutions We’ll Break Before February, that I decided I’d become a far more organized cook. No more dashing around after work each night, picking up one ingredient from this shop and three more from another store, only to head home and realize I’d forgotten the key ingredient. Harried shopping can equal harried cooking for me and I had had enough.

I vowed – no, Vowed – to start planning ahead to the point of choosing recipes that could marinate overnight. If I’m already in the kitchen cooking dinner, why surely it’s no problem for me to throw a few extra things together that can have a slumber party in the fridge. I love slumber parties!

So one night I made this chicken recipe, one my mother swears by because it’s so embarrassingly easy – both to do ahead and to make. The flavor really does seep into the chicken, even if you take the lazy man’s route and use boneless, skinless breasts. And we all know the honey-soy combination is magical, as I’ve already documented here.

…In the end, I’m embarrassed to admit this recipe was the only one I ever made ahead. I’d still consider that a success, but I’m too busy scrambling around trying to figure out what I’ll cook tonight, and could it involve two heads of 8-day-old broccoli? Want to come over? We’ll have our own slumber party!!!!

 

Indonesian Ginger Chicken

Adapted from Ina Garten’s recipe. Serves 3.

Note: I halved this recipe, and used boneless skinless chicken breasts, because I am lazy and I always have that in the fridge. You could substitute bone-in breasts with skin, or boneless thighs, or legs – whatever suits your fancy. Just adjust the cooking time accordingly.

 

1/2 c. honey

1/3 c. soy sauce

5 cloves garlic, minced

1/4 c. minced gingerroot

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, about 1 1/3 lbs. total

 

Heat the honey, soy sauce, garlic and ginger in a small sauce pan over low heat. Arrange the chicken in a suitably sized Pyrex; pour the sauce over, cover with foil, and marinate in the fridge overnight. The next day, preheat the oven to 350°. Bake for 30-33 minutes, until the breasts are cooked through.

The sauce will still be thin, so if you want to thicken it up a bit you can pour it into a small saucepan and make a cornstarch slurry. Heat the sauce, whisk in the slurry, and let it thicken. Spoon the sauce over the chicken and serve immediately.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’m making this tonight! Thanks for saving my dinner- I had no clue what to make tonight 😛

Comment by Jacque




Leave a Reply

