A Sarcastic Appetite


Pies ‘N’ Thighs
December 19, 2010, 1:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yesterday my little brother and I braved the cold – and the immense crowds – to hit up Pies ‘n’ Thighs at the Columbus Circle Holiday Market. I was prepared for the masses of slow-moving people, double-wide strollers, and annoying tourists, but even so my patience was sorely tried. The upshot was a trip to Columbus Circle required far less effort than a trip to South Williamsburg, home of the original Pies ‘n’ Thighs location.

The reward? A chicken biscuit and a ham biscuit, both incredibly delicious and worth the 15 minute wait (they make them to order), the crowds (it was the last Saturday before Christmas), and the cold (I forgot to wear socks).

First up we have the ham biscuit. My phone should give you a sense of size: they are substantial, but not enormous. The biscuit is slathered with a heavenly maple butter, which I would like to wear, but that would be inappropriate, and a bit of mustard. Two slices of thick ham, a slice of apple, some kale, and a hunk of cheddar. This thing was delicious, and so well-made that you could taste all the pieces in every bite. And because they, too, are made to order, they all look exactly alike.  Of course I wanted the biscuit to be twice the size it was, but then again, we had one more to take down:

…the famous chicken biscuit! As noted, don’t feel let down by the hot sauce, which doesn’t pack some serious heat. The biscuit gets that same delicious maple butter sauce, and the overall effect is much more pared down and simple. The little brother felt this needed some blue cheese and some kind of vegetable component, but I think I disagree. It was just – and I can’t believe I’m about to write this of a fried chicken sandwich – more subtle. You need to wait and taste the butter sliding in there under the sauce and the chicken. It’s a magical combination.

I froze my poor toes but it was well worth the wait and the cold. I was able to finish both with only a minor stomachache for the rest of the afternoon, which counts as a win-win in my book. Afterward, we grabbed some hot cider and bolted – though I must say, just writing this makes me want to go down there and have it all over again. The Columbus Circle Holiday Market is open every day until Christmas Eve, from 10am to 8pm. Get there before it’s too late!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

