A Sarcastic Appetite


Turkey Chutney Burgers
October 2, 2010, 10:16 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

When I first started cooking, I spent a lot of needless time winging things. “I can just pick up a few things and throw something together,” I’d think, and head to the store. Of course, this approach didn’t factor in my own indecisiveness, so halfway through picking up the ingredients for, say, pesto pasta, I’d find some beautiful eggplant, and suddenly dinner would be in serious jeopardy.

I thought I was quite clever about these things, but the Ninja always knew: he’d take a bite, chew it suspiciously, and then ask delicately, “Did you follow a recipe for this?”

In short, I finally realized I needed to get a better handle on the basics before I could start flinging pots and pans around the kitchen willy-nilly. That year I got Joy of Cooking for Christmas, and a whole winter of boring beef stews followed. The Ninja still hasn’t recovered.

Even the updated version is still straight out of the 50’s, but there are several gems I’ve come to rely on. Buried in the Poultry & Wildfowl section are these burgers, and they’ve become a favorite standby. I up the seasonings a bit – more cumin, coriander, and scallions are always in order, I figure. Quick to prepare, and delicious, their only downfall is that it uses up the mango chutney all too quickly. But maybe that’s a good thing.

Turkey Chutney Burgers

Serves 4. Adapted from Joy of Cooking.

1/2 c. mango chutney

2 tbsp. Dijon mustard

2 tbsp. lemon juice

1 lb. ground turkey

3 tbsp. mango chutney

3 scallions, minced

1 1/2 tsp. cumin

1 1/2 tsp. coriander

lots of salt and black pepper

2 tbsp. butter

4 slices red onion

4 slices pepper jack cheese

4 hamburger buns

In a small bowl, stir together the 1/2 c. chutney, Dijon, and lemon juice. Add a bit of salt and pepper; set aside. In a large bowl, combine the turkey, the 3 tbsp. chutney, scallions, cumin and coriander. Season with salt and pepper. Combine, but be careful not to over mix. Shape into four patties. Melt 1 tbsp. of the butter in a pan on medium-high heat; pan fry the patties, about 5 minutes on a side. Melt the other tbsp. of butter before flipping and pan frying the other side. In the last minute or two, melt the pepper jack over the patties.

Serve on buns with the chutney mixture and a slice of red onion.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

