A Sarcastic Appetite


Restaurant Round-Up for the Week of September 9
September 9, 2010, 7:43 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Remember these? No? Well I’ll remind you. I’m here to canvass the food blogs, so you don’t have to. Some highlights this week:

Jeffrey Steingarten checks out Eataly and writes an illuminating rundown. I’d check the place out myself (and ideally this week, before all the A-listers go back to their own camps) if I could get in the door of the darn place…..though maybe I shouldn’t bother, since apparently things are falling a bit flat in the wine department.

Chef Marcus Samuelsson, who’s been heavy on the PR ahead of the opening of his Harlem restaurant Red Rooster, has even bigger plans afoot: he wants to turn the whole neighborhood into a “brand.” One of the commenters sums it up best: “I’ll believe his ‘commitment to the neighborhood’ if he is still there after Sifton’s review.” And that’s assuming the Siftster gets uptown to review it in the first place, since apparently he’s biased towards Brooklyn….

FloFab’s Fall Restaurant Preview makes me feel as giddy as an 8 year old on Christmas morning. Andrew Carmellini’s opening a new restaurant! Ditch Plains AND Toloache are coming to the UWS! The couple behind Lamazou are opening a bistro! I don’t think I’ll be able to sleep tonight for all the excitement….even though plenty of these places won’t open until November.

Restaurant Girl does a nice little round-up of an area often left to the tourists: South Street Seaport. Turns out there are a few nice places worth a detour – once the weather cools off and I don’t fear melting on the 4 train on the way down, of course.

Pies ‘N Thighs has been getting a lot of love on the food blogs lately; Adam of Amateur Gourmet headed there a few weeks ago for lunch, while Brownie and her crew keep going back for breakfast. Serious Eats NY also prefers breakfast, though I’ll be honest: I want both.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

