A Sarcastic Appetite


Basil Pesto
June 28, 2010, 8:53 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Is it a hundred and ten degrees where you are right now? Did you have to wait fifteen minutes for the bus this morning and did you feel like you were going to melt? Were you worried you hadn’t hydrated properly before leaving for work? No? Just me?

Obviously, in this hideous heat, “cooking” tonight was going to involve minimal effort and no oven. So I figured I’d throw together some basil pesto, which, oddly enough, I’ve always shied away from making. Honestly, I don’t know how my mind works sometimes. It involves no cooking, and the most time consuming part is plucking basil leaves off their stems. I don’t know why I waited this long, but at least I’ve got something lined up for the next night it’s oppressively hot and I’m coming apart at the seams.

I threw this together with cooked pasta, halved cherry tomatoes, and cooked chicken – and served at room temperature, of course. I was too hot to serve it otherwise.

Basil Pesto

Makes about 1 c.

2 c. basil leaves, packed

1/2 c. grated Parmigiano-Reggiano

1/3 c. pine nuts

2 cloves garlic

1/2 c. extra virgin olive oil

lots of salt and freshly ground pepper

Combine the basil, cheese, pine nuts, garlic and some salt and pepper in a food processor. While it’s pulsing, stream in the olive oil. Taste and season as necessary and add more salt and pepper if you’d like. Toss about half with 2 -3 c. cooked pasta, 2 cooked chicken breasts, diced, and a heaping cup of cherry tomatoes, halved.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sounds good – I recently tried a similar recipe but the cherry tomatoes were tossed with a little olive oil and herbs and roasted at 350 for half an hour – The tomatoes tasted really tomatoey (sp.?)

Comment by Karen Taggart

Oh that sounds yummy – and reminds me of a recipe I found somewhere last summer for roasting tomato halves at a very low temp for hours and hours. Apparently it does wonders. I’ll send it to you!!

Comment by Emily

[…] Basil Pesto […]

Pingback by Indonesian-Style Salad with Chicken « A Sarcastic Appetite




Leave a Reply

