A Sarcastic Appetite


The Best Brownies, Ever
December 8, 2009, 10:49 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Uh, so this is a little awkward.

There was a time when I vowed to start taking slightly more attractive pictures of food for the blog. Then I made these brownies, and, well, photographs be damned. I was too busy eating shoveling this chocolatey goodness into my gullet to bother. Halfway through the third one, I thought I had better make a halfhearted attempt to snap a picture of something bearing at least a vague resemblance to a brownie, which leaves you with the abomination above. I hope it suffices, because it’s all you’re getting. I’ve made many brownies in my day, and these take the cake. (Or brownie. Whatever.) They are rich and more fudge-like than cake-like, and as if that were not enough, I had the audacity to throw a bag of chocolate chips and some instant coffee in there for good measure. I have to say I have really outdone myself – especially because they’re even better the next day. You know, I just remembered, I have to…go….I….have….something in the kitchen I…ah…need to check on…..

The Best Brownies, Ever

Adapted from this recipe, courtesy of Alexandra’s Kitchen. Makes about 16 2″ brownies.

Alexandra says this is her favorite brownie recipe of all time and she’s stopped trying any others. But since you know I’m one to gild the lily, I thought I’d add chocolate chips and a little instant coffee on top of everything else. Typical.

1 c. butter

2 c. granulated sugar

4 large eggs, lightly beaten

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 tsp. instant coffee

3/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

2/3 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350º and put the rack in the middle. Butter an 8″ square pan, or something in that neighborhood. Melt the butter in a medium sized saucepan; add the sugar and whisk until blended. Take it off the heat; add the beaten eggs, the vanilla, and the instant coffee and stir until smooth. In a large separate bowl, whisk the cocoa, flour, baking powder and salt. Stir in the butter mixture and keep stirring until smooth. Add the chocolate chips, stir, then spread into the pan. Bake 37-40 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with a few crumbs still on it. Let cool completely before attemping to hack into it….if you can bear to wait that long, anyway.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

