A Sarcastic Appetite


Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies
November 10, 2009, 11:31 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

DSC01561

They might not look that good, but they’re actually really awesome. I was moseying through Gristede’s and my wandering eye happened upon a bright orange bag of Reese’s peanut butter chips. Done and done. Occasionally things pan out this way: I spy one ingredient, then haphazardly try to remember everything else I will need to make whatever it is that I’ve decided in that moment to make. And I was successful this time! I guess that curry is working already? Once I got home, I poured myself a glass of wine and set about making them immediately.

Anyway, bake them for ten minutes or so, so they’re slightly underbaked and incredibly delicious. If you’re gluttonous, you might want to consider adding chocolate chips, too. I wish I had thought of that myself. And also thought to pick up some more wine – now I’m all out….

Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

Adapted from the recipe on the back of the bag; makes about 2 dozen.

2 c. flour

3/4 c. cocoa powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

2 sticks butter, softened

2 c. sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 1/2 10 oz. bags of Hershey’s peanut butter chips

Extra chocolate chips, if you so desire

Preheat oven to 350º. Stir together flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt. Beat butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, and then vanilla; beat well. Beat in the flour mixture in batches. Stir in peanut butter chips and chocolate chips if you’re using them too. Drop by rounded spoonfuls onto ungreased non-stick baking sheets; bake for about 10-11 minutes, until the tops are just set but they’re still a little underdone in the middle. Cool slightly, then remove to wire racks to cool completely.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

