A Sarcastic Appetite


Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup
October 28, 2009, 8:37 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

DSC01557

Usually, October 1 rolls around and I go haywire: I buy those little pumpkins that aren’t even actually pumpkins (but in fact boring gourds) and arrange them all around the apartment, often forgetting where I’ve put some of them so in several months an odd smell will begin to waft from somewhere unexpected, like the hall closet. (Seemed like a good idea at the time?) I fill vases with cranberries and shove pillar candles in there, channeling Martha Stewart even though I know she’s trying to kill me.

I also tend to get a little riled up in the kitchen, baking pumpkin bread and acorn squash with cinnamon and maple syrup, roasting chickens and making stews. The weather’s getting colder, so I might as well give my metabolism a run for its money, and hey why don’t we go ahead and make four batches of cornbread while we’re at it?

Not this year. I guess I got a little distracted, because I turned around and October had basically ended. But I had a craving for some butternut squash soup and in a surprising turn of events, I actually went out and bought what I needed and made it that same night. And it’s pretty good. A little on the healthy side for my liking – where is the cream? Wine? Onions sauteed in copious amounts of butter? No? Well, I suppose it’s for the best. My cholesterol levels will thank me, I guess. Just this once.

 

Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup

Adapted from this recipe, courtesy of Tartelette. Serves about 4.

Several tablespoons of olive oil

1/2 tsp. or more of crushed red pepper flakes

1 smallish butternut squash, peeled, seeded, and diced into 1 inch cubes

1 smallish acorn squash, peeled, seeded, and diced into 1 inch cubes

3 cloves of garlic, smashed

4 c. chicken stock, preferably homemade (and don’t give me that look – it’s easy.)

1-2 tsp. thyme

lots of salt, pepper

 

Heat the oil on medium heat in a large stock pot; add the red pepper flakes (add more, if you want more of a kick). Throw the squash in and let it caramelize for 5-7 minutes, stirring as needed. Season with salt and pepper. Add the garlic and keep stirring; add the chicken stock and thyme, bring to a boil and then let it simmer for about 30 minutes. Let the soup cool (overnight in the fridge is fine), then puree it in a food processor or blender. Or if you’re one of those cool cats with an immersion blender, you can do that right away. Serve with a dollop of creme fraîche and some thyme on top, or crumbled bacon, or whatever the heck else you want to throw on there.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

