A Sarcastic Appetite


Slightly Consoling
September 21, 2009, 11:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

The lights have been dark over here at A Sarcastic Appetite, not that I need to tell you four readers about it. Oh, actually, I think we’re down to three since one is in the DR for the year, ahem. (Hi, Tuna, if you get the internets down there and you’re reading this!)

At any rate – yes, it’s been quiet around here. I hope you’ll excuse me and look aside politely when I say I’ve been elsewhere. (Yeah, yeah, literally and figuratively and all that jazz.) I wasn’t around much this summer and my time in the kitchen suffered as a result – I didn’t do a lot of cooking and we’re now through the third summer when I said I would make gazpacho from local tomatoes and did I? Did I? No, of course not. Next year, I guess. Maybe next year.

I’ve been a little distracted. Reader(s), I’ve fallen in love….with the new book from Nigel Slater. Kitchen Diaries trumps everything else I’ve read food-wise, apart from Julia Child’s biography. (It’s called Appetite for Life and I highly recommend you look into that.) Slater, on the other hand, devotes a year to being conscious of what his family eats and where it comes from – and the result is a year of stripped down meals, with simple ingredients and straightforward preparation. Now if that doesn’t sound like my idea of lazy cooking all dressed up for a night on the town, well, I just don’t know what does. The man gets me, he really does (plus the book is printed on this really fabulous paper and did I mention the photography and the quintessentially British sense of humor? It’s a delight, really, it is).

Oh, did you think I was going to cook something from his new book? Dearie me, no, friends – I read 2 pages of it every night before passing out cold. What I can tell you about, though, are some crazy chocolate cookies I made yesterday. A brilliant weekend had ended and I needed something to cheer me up – and something that would require little manpower and pedestrian ingredients. I didn’t have the required full-fat yogurt, so I substituted creme fraîche (what, you don’t have that lying around?) – a handy trick, since they were billed as lowfat cookies and you and I both know I think that sounds pretty suspicious. They were only slightly consoling, but sometimes that will do the trick. For the time being, anyway.

IMG00145-20090920-1819

Chewy Cocoa Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from this Orangette recipe, obviously. Makes about 1 1/2 dozen.

1 c. flour

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/8 tsp. salt

1/2 stick butter, melted

2/3 cup sugar

1/3 cup light brown sugar

7 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder

1/3 c. plain yogurt, preferably not non-fat. (I, ahem, used creme fraîche. Delicious.)

1 heaping tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350º and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a small bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, and salt. In a larger microwaveable bowl, melt the butter. Add the sugars and the cocoa, then the yogurt and vanilla. Stir in the flour mixture, then add the chocolate chips. Throw some more in there if you get nervous like I do that there won’t be enough chocolate chips to go around.

Drop by rounded tablespoons onto the parchment paper, flattening their tops slightly if you can as you go along, and leaving ample room around each cookie. Bake for ten minutes or so – you want them set and starting to crack just slightly on top. Let them cool on the sheet for another ten minutes before transfering to a wire rack to cool completely.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I just got my shout out! Still an avid fan, even from afar… miss you!

Comment by Caitlin




Leave a Reply

