A Sarcastic Appetite


Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies with Dried Cranberries
August 30, 2009, 11:54 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

cookies

(Side note: new camera coming soon, I promise. In the meantime, I know it’s miserable. Bear with me.) The Nutritional Ninja requested some baked goods this weekend, and since I’ll be away for most of next week, I thought I’d humor him (just this once). So this morning I pulled myself together and tweaked a recipe I had read on Orangette oh, months ago and only just got around to making.

The original recipe, from Gourmet, called for apricots and pistachios, which I wanted no part of. (In my mind, now, pistachios are to be hoarded and used for this recipe, and this recipe only.) I wanted chocolate, and I wanted dried cranberries. I also wanted something I could throw together in an hour or so; I’ve got some tv to catch up on and these cookies couldn’t be getting in the way of that.

Well. They’ve got a lot going for them. An hour later, I’m finished and the kitchen’s [mostly] cleaned, and while they’re a far cry from the gooey coconut chocolate chip cookies I normally bake, they’re pretty good. They’re crispier, and as I went a little overboard with the add-ins, there’s very little in the way of actual batter holding them together. (Turns out not to be a bad thing.) They remind me of those oatmeal lace cookies I used to make when I was younger, albeit more substantial. And chocolate-y.

It’s also nice to have a recipe that only yields about 18 cookies as opposed to the usual 4 dozen – otherwise, they’re easy fodder for breakfast, lunch and dinner. (Not that I would ever make such a poor choice.) Oh, so now you want to know who took a bite out of the one in the photograph? Hmmph.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies with Dried Cranberries

Adapted from Gourmet, via Orangette. Makes about 18.

3/4 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1 stick butter, at room temperature

3/4 c. dark brown sugar, packed

1/4 c. sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 large egg

1 1/2 c. old fashioned rolled oats

1/2 c. dried cranberries

1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350. Butter a baking sheet, or grease it with cooking spray.

In a small bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, and salt. In a large bowl, beat together butter and sugars with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add the vanilla and the egg; beat well to combine. Add the dry ingredients to the mixture, beating at low speed until just combined. Fold in the oats, dried cranberries, and chocolate chips; stir to combine. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto the baking sheet, and bake until golden brown, about 15-16 minutes. Cool on a baking rack.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

