A Sarcastic Appetite


Restaurant Round-Up for the Week of August 27
August 27, 2009, 7:25 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hello once again friends. I’ve been canvassing the food blogs this week so you don’t have to. A few highlights:

That kooky David Chang just won’t stop. Now you can get the Momofuku Milk to go. Eater’s even gone and done the hard work for you, putting two and two together: cereal milk….and cereal. Wowsers.

Now, occasionally I’ve found myself draped over a stool in a dive bar somewhere, pondering my next drink. And occasionally, through the haze of several beers and probably two orders too many of things like nachos muchos grandes and/or spinach and artichoke dip, I’ll have an epiphany and perk up. “The Brooklyn Local, please!” Or, “A Victory Prima Pils?” And then, more often than not, the bartender will look at me like I have three heads, announcing curtly that such a thing doesn’t exist – or not in his bar, anyway. Deflated, I’ll hunch back over my stool and order another Bud Light, swearing to try someplace new next time. It’s times like these I’d like to start a petitio—oh, wait, BeerPetitions.com is already way ahead of me. Phew.

And on that note, thankfully, finding a new place won’t be so hard this fall. Metromix has very kindly done the work for me, rounding up a list of new bars set to open in the coming months. Well color me tipsy.

New blog alert: this guy’s eating a slice at every single pizzeria in Manhattan. Ok, ok, I admit it, I’m curious. I love pizza almost as much as I love champagne, and we all know how I feel about champagne.

Didn’t think you could find shark fin soup in Manhattan? Well, you thought wrong. Alice Waters, come and get it!

Zagat has the 411 on Danny Meyer’s newest venture.He’s named it after himself – er, sort of. The digs are to be called Maialino, or “suckling pig,” since apparently that was ol’ Danny Boy’s nickname when he worked in Italy. Huh.

A sandwich for your next jaunt into Central Park (or, um, whatever park near where you live): the Tunisien, courtesy of the Atlantic. I’m into it, though I realize that’s not saying much; we all know there’s really very little I won’t eat.

Oh, and Brasserie has the most absurd recession-friendly menu yet: it’s free.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

