A Sarcastic Appetite


Spicy Peanut Noodles with Shrimp
August 24, 2009, 8:49 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Ok kids, I’ve got a confession to make. You’ve probably already guessed it, but if you haven’t, well, you may need glasses. It seems I…ah…broke my camera a couple of weekends ago (I guess flinging it into the sand was a very poorly conceived idea) and have had to rely on the piddly camera in my BlackBerry to get the job done. And you know who that hurts? You, dear reader(s). Because the normally abysmal quality of photography on this site has, um, plummeted. In fact, I wasn’t sure such a thing were possible until I was rendered camera-less.

At any rate, I’m working on a replacement – and ideally it’ll have some kind of “setting” that will allow me to “photograph” “food”. So I’ll keep you posted on that front, and in the meantime, bear with me. And maybe crack open a beer or have a cocktail before you read any further, to ease things up a bit so you don’t do any kind of permanent damage to your eyes.

I haven’t been spending my usual Sunday mornings flipping through cookbooks, so cooking lately has been a little haphazard. Today, as usual, was no exception. But even though I forgot (unsurprisingly) a couple of things on the list, dinner came together quite nicely. It also happened fairly quickly. Unless my glass or three of Picpoul de Pinet was responsible for that?

It’s the usual roster of ingredients – some shrimp, some pasta (use regular spaghetti if you don’t have rice noodles – I won’t tell and it’ll still be good), some veggies and a quick sauce from natural peanut butter, limes, fish sauce, and a little heat. Toss it all together and you’re set. Now I’ve just got to go see about that Picpoul….

noodles

Spicy Peanut Noodles with Shrimp

Adapted from this recipe. Serves 3-4.

3 limes

1/2 c. natural peanut butter

1 tsp. sriracha, or to taste

2 tsp. nam pla (fish sauce)

About 1 lb. rice noodles, or spaghetti if that’s all you’ve got

2 tbsp. peanut oil, or other neutral-flavored oil

2 tbsp. minced garlic

1/2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes

1 lb. peeled and deveined shrimp

3-4 scallions, sliced thinly

about 1 c. grated carrots, or chopped finely if you don’t grate

1/2 c. chopped cilantro

lots of salt and freshly ground black pepper

Bring a pot of water to boil and cook the noodles according to whatever directions you’ve got. In a small bowl, add the peanut butter. Zest one of the limes and add it, then add its juice, along with the fish sauce, the sriracha, and some pepper. Microwave it for ten or so seconds to soften it, and add a bit of water at a time, stirring, until you’ve got something with a vaguely sauce-like consistency.

Heat the oil in a pan; add the garlic and red pepper flakes. Add carrots and allow to soften slightly; then add the shrimp and some salt and cook, tossing every once in awhile, until they’re just pink, a few minutes or so. Add the scallions, cook the shrimp through a few minutes more, then add the cooked noodles and the sauce. Toss together to combine; serve with chopped cilantro on top and lime wedges.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yo shorty, no fish sauce in the ingredient list. Looks delish tho- I’m on this like MJ on some sleeping pills!

Comment by Jacque

You’re too good! On another note, I hope you’re celebrating MJ’s birthday this weekend in style?? I’ll be blasting “Billie Jean” on repeat…oh, I guess that happens every weekend.

Comment by Emily




Leave a Reply

