A Sarcastic Appetite


Linguine with Lemon and Pistachio
August 3, 2009, 11:19 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

DSC01484

First, an introduction by way of a side note: that’s me there on the right (without a pony tail), about five years old and hotly cranky in a bitter fight with my then-best-friend, about what I couldn’t tell you. You might also see her mother there, tiny, off to the left, blithely searching for seashells –  apparently this happened often enough that no one seemed to bother with us. These days, I wish I could tell you that decades do wonders and I’m no longer the same cranky monster who stomped around on that beach in Connecticut….but I’d be lying. So, onward!

There were a couple standouts that happened in my kitchen BB – Before the Blog – and this pasta was one of them. I first tried it at Bar Stuzzichini in Gramercy with two great friends, and I hazily recall demanding another portion after we had gone in for a third bottle of wine. Thankfully, I don’t believe it ever appeared. (The pasta, that is. The third bottle definitely did, unfortunately, for all parties involved.)

It is a rare occurrence that I eat something in a restaurant and within days set about recreating it. But this was so simple and so delicious….and I was pretty sure the sauce would require some white wine – an easy excuse to pick up a bottle if I’ve ever heard one. I didn’t trust myself to get the sauce right, so I turned to the interwebs for an answer – and lo and behold, someone else who wrote a food blog had eaten the same pasta, felt equally enamored, and wanted to make it too! What are the odds?!

DSC01487

(Yeah, I still wear my hair like that. So what gives?)

The first time I made it, I doubled the amount of cheese, pistachios, and lemon, and it was glorious. I took a bite and finally understood why some people who love to cook simply never eat out. I could make this forever and ever, and it could be as intensely cheesy and lemony as I wanted! As you can see in the photo above, well, I never really got away from that. It’s also great because aside from the pistachios, it requires things I always have lying around: butter, pasta, wine, some lemons, and an onion. Piece of cake.

DSC01488

And with that, my worlds have collided, and the pasta’s now on the blog. Do with that what you will….

Linguine with Lemon and Pistachio

Adapted from Lick My Spoon’s recipe. Serves about 2.

1/2 lb. linguine

1/2 an onion, diced finely

1 tbsp. butter

1 tbsp. olive oil

1 1/2 tbsp. flour

1/2 c. milk, or half-and-half

1/2 c. white wine

lots of salt and freshly ground black pepper

zest and juice of 2-3 lemons

1/2 c. roughly chopped pistachios

heaping 1/2 c. grated Parmigiano Reggiano, plus more to garnish

Cook the pasta in boiling water until al dente. Meanwhile, melt the butter and oil in a large saute pan over low heat. Add the onion and cook until soft, then add the flour and whisk for a minute or two in order to make a roux. Add the milk and the wine together, in a steady stream, whisking constantly until thick and smooth, about ten minutes. Season with lots of salt and pepper.

[At this point, if you were following the recipe faithfully, you would strain the sauce through a sieve and discard the solids. I love onions and being lazy, surprisingly, and couldn’t be bothered. Do whatever you like.]

Add to the sauce the lemon zest and juice, pistachios, and grated cheese. Once the pasta’s finished cooking, drain it, reserving a bit of the liquid, and add both to the sauce. Toss well to coat, and serve with more grated Parmigiano Reggiano on top, and black pepper.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

ha glad you found this! and you’re right, i’m often too lazy to strain it too when I make it for myself.

Comment by Lick My Spoon




Leave a Reply

