A Sarcastic Appetite


Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies
July 21, 2009, 10:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

DSC01447

Last night I made pasta with shrimp and basil that was so lackluster I can’t even be bothered to blog about it. And that’s really saying something, because here at A Sarcastic Appetite, my friends, the bar’s set pretty low. I’m still a little confused as to how that happened, especially since the sauce was pretty much just a delightful Pinot Gris from the Willamette Valley, but sometimes these things just don’t pan out.

After dinner, however, (and after several glasses of said wine), I thought I’d make some cookies. Actually, the Nutritional Ninja had asked that I pick some up on the way home from work, but I couldn’t be bothered. I could, however, be bothered to make a mess in the kitchen with my brown sugar that wasn’t quite soft and the 75 bowls I apparently needed to throw these cookies together. (They’re not actually that difficult to make.)

They are, however, kind of a lot. If I were to do them again, I’d reduce the amount of chocolate (I know, I know, can you believe it?) and up the amount of oatmeal. And maybe reduce the flour by a little bit, too, while I was at it. But they are actually damn good, and I say that with authority, having shoveled eaten four of them quite daintily for dessert. Especially since they’re, you know, nicely underbaked. Then again, what cookie isn’t better underbaked?

Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from this recipe. Makes about 2 dozen.

2 c. flour

1 c. uncooked oats (not the quick cooking kind)

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

1 1/2 sticks butter, softened

3/4 c. sugar

3/4 c. brown sugar, packed

2 large eggs

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

12 oz. chocolate chips (this was a little excessive)

1 1/2 c. raisins

Preheat the oven to 350º. In a small bowl, whisk the flour, baking soda, oats and salt. In a large bowl, beat the butter and both sugars. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each one. Beat in the vanilla. Add the flour mixture little by little, beating well. Stir in the raisins and the chocolate chips. Drop by heaping tablespoons onto a greased cookie sheet; bake about 10-11 minutes if you like them underdone; closer to 14 minutes if you like them crispier. Let cool on the sheet for about a minute or two before transferring to a rack to cool completely.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

