A Sarcastic Appetite


Another Exercise in Lazy Cooking
May 27, 2009, 8:32 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Sometimes I think I picked the wrong name for this blog. Yes, I’m sarcastic, but maybe even more than that, well, I’m lazy. Just plain lazy. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve read through a recipe and said, “I’m not doing that…I don’t have that….There is no way I’m using that many pots…..I have to do it for how long?….That is completely ridiculous….Who even wrote this?!”

So the end result is, while usually delicious, more often than not the product of a series of shortcuts, all of them stemming from my own sheer laziness.

Case in point: I made my own chicken stock the other day, though I’ll never post it here because a) I was too lazy to take pictures and b) I followed no recipe – I just threw some chicken carcasses, an onion, celery, and parsley into a stock pot with a bunch of water and boiled it for 3 hours. When it cooled enough, I strained it and poured it into some containers. The next day I did manage to skim the fat off the top of 2 before throwing them into the freezer. There was no “saute the onions until softened before adding the water,” “occasionally skim the fat off the surface as it boils” or “push the solids down into the strainer to extract the liquids.”  No, no – this was Lazy Chicken Stock, pure and simple. And you know what, I bet it will be delicious. Not that I would know – I’m too lazy to find a recipe that will use it…

So last night was another exercise in Lazy Cooking, this time with a brownie recipe out of Silver Palate. In my paltry defense, it was due less to my own laziness and more to a lack of time; I was trying to throw them together before heading out to meet some friends.

They’re delicious. I just ate two and maybe feel a little sick, but I could be convinced to have a third, I won’t lie. I’ve noted my, um, shortcuts below.

DSC01074

Coffee Blond Brownies

“Adapted” from The Silver Palate Good Times Cookbook

1 lb. dark brown sugar (I only had light brown; it was fine)

1 1/2 sticks butter

2 tbsp. instant coffee powder

1 tbsp. hot water

2 eggs

2 tbsp. vanilla extract

2 c. flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

2 tbsp cocoa (optional)

1 1/2 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Melt the brown sugar and butter in a saucepan. Dissolve the coffee into the hot water; stir that in. Once everything’s melted, take it off the heat and allow to cool to room temperature. (Needless to say I did not wait for it to cool all the way to room temperature.)

Preheat the oven to 350º. Butter an 11 x 8-inch baking dish.

Transfer the butter mixture to a heatproof bowl to speed the cooling process; once you’re ready to proceed, beat in the eggs and vanilla. Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt together and stir into the butter mixture with the cocoa, if using. (Or you could not bother with the sifting part if you are feeling, um, lazy.) Stir in the chocolate chips.

Spread the mixture into the pan and bake until lightly browned, 25 to 30 minutes. (My pan was a bit bigger than the suggested size; I baked them for about 30 minutes and they were still a little underdone when I pulled them out. I do not regret my decision in the least.) Do not overbake! Cool completely before cutting – or try to, anyway.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] with the added bonus that his recipe required plenty of peanut butter, and would make use of that chicken stock I had lying around. I couldn’t find kale, so I substituted swiss chard, and merely cooked it […]

Pingback by Bittman’s West African Peanut Soup With Chicken « A Sarcastic Appetite

[…] 4 c. chicken stock, preferably homemade (and don’t give me that look – it’s easy.) […]

Pingback by Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup « A Sarcastic Appetite

SO yummy! Thanks for posting this crowd-pleaser!

Comment by Anna




Leave a Reply

