A Sarcastic Appetite


The Fabled Kumquaticello
May 10, 2009, 5:23 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m a little underwhelmed.

Six weeks ago I set out to make my own kumquaticello, using this recipe from Sippity Sup. Kumquats are weird and I like that: you can eat them raw, whole; and in a nice twist, the rind is sweet while the insides are sour. The recipe was straightforward: vodka, kumquats, steep; add some simple syrup and more vodka, steep; and drink. I’ve infused regular vodka with my own fruit concoctions – pomegranate and lime, and meyer lemon – so I knew this wouldn’t be terribly difficult. Kumquats were almost out of season, and I thought it might be nice to have something stored away for November, when it’s cold and dark, we’re just settling in for the winter, and I want to drink something bright. (Unfortunately I deleted the “before” pictures, so you’ll have to make do with the “after.” Get over it.)

DSC00833

One week went by, then two, then three weeks, at which point my kumquats still hadn’t lost a smidge of color. This was embarrassing. After a month I had had enough; I strained the kumquats out, poured the vodka into two 1-liter mason jars, divided a fresh bottle of vodka between them, added some simple syrup, and let it steep for another week.

DSC01009

So here we are, six weeks later. I had a taste this afternoon and it’s…it’s…

It’s a bit too sweet, so the kumquat’s complex flavor gets sort of lost in the shuffle. I’ve made cordials before that were too much on their own but opened up a little with some sparkling water to cut it a bit. Unfortunately…that didn’t quite happen. It was still a bit off; I have to play around with it a little. Maybe club soda; maybe more fruit; maybe Grand Marnier. Who knows – but when I do, I’ll post it here.

left to right: cocktail; liqueur; cyclamen

cocktail; liqueur; cyclamen

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] The Fabled Kumquaticello […]

Pingback by A Work in Progress « A Sarcastic Appetite




Leave a Reply

