A Sarcastic Appetite


Missing the Point
April 27, 2009, 8:14 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

dsc00587

It all began so innocently. In an obvious – and these days, frankly pedestrian – move, I thought to combine my desire to write again with a longstanding interest in (and appetite for) food, and a more recent infatuation with the act of cooking it: I started a blog. After all, I had been thinking for some time that I wanted to document this part of my life, if only to keep track of what I cooked, and when, and why (not to mention how it tasted).

And yet. And yet I find myself missing the point.

I cook, to be sure, and I diligently photograph my efforts (pitifully), but in the fast, frantic push to get everything together, I miss that moment which compelled me to start this thing in the first place. The situation worsens once I bring said dinner over to my tv table and we flip on the television and wait a minute, how did I already finish eating even before the first commercial break? This is embarrassing.  And ironic: for someone who claims to love food and buying food and preparing food and talking about food – I’ve managed to care less about cooking it and somehow forgotten how to eat it.

Even the act of keeping this blog (all ten posts in their exhaustive entirety) has become a frenetic activity: spurts of typing during commercial breaks as I try to weave in some kind of paltry narrative. (Apparently I need to ease up on the television watching.) I need to relish the time it takes to cook and eat – and I need to enjoy it. Life is short to do otherwise.

So on that note, I’m going back to basics this week, and taking my sweet time doing it. I’ll be featuring recipes that actually have a story behind them – though whether it’s worth sharing, well, you can be the judge.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I just discovered your blog and I’m already a fan. So keep up the good work!

Comment by Kayt




Leave a Reply

