A Sarcastic Appetite


Peanut Butter Double Chocolate Chip Cookies
April 21, 2009, 10:58 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I spied some peanut butter chocolate chip cookies on Monday at lunchtime when I was buying my sandwich and lunged for them. Sounds good, right? The only problem was they tasted like they were made about seven years ago. I was horribly disappointed – though that didn’t stop me from finishing the pack (of 4 mini cookies, thankyouverymuch).

As I polished off the last stale, tasteless specimen, I realized the only way to atone for such a transgression was to make my own. And let me tell you, they did not disappoint. The dough is adapted from Tollhouse’s own recipe, and they do not mess around over there so you know it’s good.

dsc00944

Peanut Butter Double Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes about 2 dozen big ones; 2 1/2 dozen reasonably sized ones

2 1/4 c. flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

2 sticks butter, softened

3/4 c. brown sugar

3/4 c. white sugar

2 eggs

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 heaping c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 heaping c. milk chocolate chips

1 1/2 c. peanut butter chips

Preheat the oven to 350°. Butter a non-stick cookie sheet. (I know, I know. Just do it and be quiet about it.) In a smaller bowl, combine the flour, salt, and baking soda. In a large bowl, cream the butter and both sugars. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in the vanilla. Beat in the flour mixture in stages, beating well after each addition. Stir in all the chips, and don’t be afraid to add more, you know, if you’re one of those people who likes to live on the edge and push the envelope and all that.

Anyway, spoon the batter in nice sized tablespoons onto the cookie sheet. Don’t forget to butter the cookie sheet for each round, or cookie sheet(s) if you’re such a baller that you have more than one. It makes a difference: you get a nice little ring of crispness around the outside before the middle melts into soft and chewy deliciousness. (I believe that is the scientific term.) In this case, I tempered my enthusiasm and managed to fit 12 on one sheet. Bake for about 11 minutes – or more like 13 if you went the glutton route and made saucer-sized cookies. Hey, I don’t judge.

dsc009431

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] know, these probably look a little familiar. It also appears I’ve made no fewer than five desserts featuring the holy combination of […]

Pingback by Peanut Butter & Chocolate Chip Cookies « A Sarcastic Appetite




Leave a Reply

