A Sarcastic Appetite


And then I started a blog
March 27, 2009, 3:16 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

This is my famous cornbread recipe, one that puts the Jiffy Mix to shame. (And I think the Jiffy Mix is very, very good.) I had spent months trying most cornbread variations out of that old standby, The Joy of Cooking, and they were all of southern descent: little if any sugar and few ingredients that made a cornbread which tasted, as my brother said, “like something the Pilgrims would have eaten.” I gave up.

A few months later, I was flipping through Kyra Alex’s Cooking in the Moment and hit the jackpot. My recipe is adapted from hers for Raspberry Muffins, though I’ve added – unsurprisingly – more butter, sugar, and cornmeal, and dispensed with the fruit altogether. In my humble and unbiased opinion, the result is glorious.

The Cornbread

The best cornbread you'll ever have

1 1/4 c. yellow stone ground cornmeal

3/4 c. all purpose flour

scant 1/2 c. sugar

2 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup whole milk, or half & half

1 stick butter, melted (I always use salted, but use whatever you’ve got)

1 egg

Preheat oven to 375. Butter a 6″ by 12″ baking dish. In a large bowl, whisk the cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. In another bowl, whisk the milk, butter, and egg. Make a well in the dry ingredients and stir in the wet ingredients, being careful not to overmix. The batter may look curdled; don’t worry. Spread it into the pan and bake about 18-20 minutes, 18 if you like it a little underdone in the middle and 20 if you don’t like to mess around.

Delicious

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] said: “What do you even have to write about? They’re muffins!”) They’re not cornbread, which I’m a little sick of making, and they seem to fulfill the Nutritional Ninja’s […]

Pingback by Raisin Oat Bran Muffins « A Sarcastic Appetite




Leave a Reply

