A Sarcastic Appetite


Honey-Chipotle Chicken Breasts with Sweet Potatoes
March 15, 2011, 7:00 am
Filed under: Recipes

Yesterday morning I sauntered into the kitchen after a weekend away to find the Ninja busily preparing his morning cup of coffee. (He uses a Moka pot for his Stumptown coffee and has visions of switching over to Chemex. Don’t even get me started.) I noticed a small jar filled with amber-colored liquid on the counter that wasn’t there when I left last week, with an orange price tag on the top that read “$11.99.”

“I got you some honey,” the Ninja said. “It’s local, from New York!”

It took me a moment to, ah, add it all up. “You paid $12 for some honey!?!” I cried. “Are you kidding?”

The Ninja became incredibly indignant. “She keeps her bees on a rooftop on 84th Street! You can’t get much more local than that! She was at the health food store and I talked to her! She is a nice lady.”

It is at this point that I realized I’d woken up in Bizarre-o World, where my brother is an UES SAHM (Stay-At-Home-Mom for you newbies) who spends time chatting with people hawking stuff at the health food store and makes outrageous, unnecessary purchases, and I’m the Working Dad who chastises him for said outrageous purchases. $12 for some honey!?

“I thought you would like it,” he said. “Well, I do,” I replied, “But remember we have friends who can get honey from home and they’ll give us theirs!”

Mr. UES SAHM was unsatisfied with my answer, and it seemed I had ruffled his feathers a bit. I resolved to do the nice thing and make something for dinner that will incorporate said $12 honey. It worked delightfully, and we’re both placated for now – until he swans home with another ridiculous purchase, anyway.

Lastly, a side note: I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but until now this little blog has mostly existed in a vacuum; I haven’t acknowledged events occurring outside this funny little space I call my own. Ironically, what’s happening in Japan now is so big and so terrible that I can’t even put words around it.  Catastrophe? Terror? Wholesale destruction? None really comes close. I can’t imagine what it is like there right now, as they contemplate a nuclear meltdown. Ruth Reichl wrote about this a few days ago, and like many others, it resonated with me too. If you want to give, here’s a list of resources. If you are looking for someone there, or have information about someone, Google has a page for that too.

Honey-Chipotle Chicken Breasts with Sweet Potatoes

Via Sassy Radish, who adapted it from Melissa Clark’s In the Kitchen with A Good Appetite. Serves 3.

2 sweet potatoes, cut into 1 inch pieces

lots of olive oil – about 6 Tbsp.

2 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, minced

2 garlic cloves, minced

2 Tbsp. honey

1 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar

1 tsp. kosher salt + lots of freshly ground pepper, plus more for the potatoes

1 tsp. ground cumin

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

chopped cilantro and limes for garnish

In a small bowl, stir together 3 Tbsp. olive oil, the minced chipotles, garlic, honey, vinegar, salt, pepper, cumin, and cinnamon. Taste and correct for seasoning. Throw the chicken into a large Ziploc bag and add the honey-chipotle mixture; squeze the air out and let it marinate for 2-3 hours, refrigerated.

Preheat the oven to 400º. Toss the diced sweet potatoes with the remaining 3 Tbsp. of olive oil, and lots of salt and pepper. Scatter in a single layer on a large rimmed baking sheet and roast for 15 minutes. Pull the pan out, shove the potatoes together, and then place the marinated chicken breasts on top of the potatoes. Drizzle with a bit of the marinade and then roast for another 25 minutes. Serve garnished with cilantro and the juice of half a lime.

Feeling lazy and want some veggies with that? Toss some bite-size pieces of broccoli in a bowl with 1 tsp. ground coriander, 1 tsp. ground cumin, a bunch of olive oil (I usually use about 4 Tbsp), and lots of salt and pepper. Add it to the baking sheet when you add the chicken, and roast it alongside the potatoes. Toss once, at the 15 minute mark. Protein, vegetable and carb all on one baking sheet? I couldn’t be more pleased.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[...] sources for these newfangled diets and supplements and whatever else you try. Was that lady who sold you the $12 honey one of [...]

Pingback by And on the Second Blogiversary, an Interview with the Ninja « A Sarcastic Appetite




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

